Book Review: Delirium by Lauren Oliver. <3

delirium

Hi everyone :), for the first book review that I do on my blog, I thought it should be of a book which has the maximum appeal to the kind of audience I feel my blog targets; young adults and predominantly girls. The book is called Delirium by the author Lauren Oliver and I have to say this is probably one of my favourite books. Most likely, you’ve already heard of this book which comes in a trilogy as it’s so popular in youth culture and rightly so!

Firstly, I think I should summarise the plot of delirium for you so you know what the story is about but I’ll try my best not to give away any spoilers, (I know how annoying that is when reading some reviews) so here goes! The story is set in a place called Portland, Maine where love is seen as a dangerous disease called Amor Deliria Nervosa (also referred to in the book as the deliria), hence the title of the book; Delirium. The oppressive government which exists in this society has imposed a cure for the deliria, a procedure which every citizen must undergo as soon as they hit 18 to ensure that they never ‘catch the deliria’. One such citizen called Lena is about to turn 18 and couldn’t be more looking forward to the procedure, convinced that she’d be safe from the horrible syndrome once it’s done. However, (and here comes the plot twist) just before her arranged procedure, Lena finds herself falling in love with someone, what her government and the society in which she lives would see as catching the deliria. But she isn’t just falling in love with another boy her age who hasn’t undergone the procedure yet, she’s fallen in love with an invalid from the wilds; a boy named Alex. Portland is highly guarded from the wilds, a place where those who escaped undergoing the procedure ran away to, these people are called the ‘invalids’. Alex and Lena met because of Alex’s secret identity, enabling him to hide undercover in Portland. Now begins the joyride: twists and turns, romance, shock, excitement, emotions and lots more. It’s for you to discover through reading this novel whether Lena still has to undergo the procedure, if she decides to stay with Alex, does Alex get caught and everything else that happens along the way.

The characters in Delirium are so relatable, and the ones which Oliver wants you to like, you will love: that’s how beautifully they’ve been written. The plot of this book just sounded so over the top and irrational to me that I never thought I would enjoy it as I’m somebody who has to relate to a book and see myself dealing with those situations to truly connect to it and invest my time in it. However, Oliver’s writing style gives you the imagination and the ability to put yourself in the shoes of the character and empathise with them, making delirium an emotional rollercoaster.

Over all, I would have to say that Delirium is up there with the most hard to put down books I have ever read, and I’m a big book lover. The plot instantly has you hooked and it’s a wonderful, unpredictable, exciting read; a real page turner. I would have to give this book 5/5 stars as I honestly cannot fault it. Go and pick up a copy of Delirium by Lauren Oliver now and box of tissues to go with it!

Xoxo, Mehvish 🙂 ❤

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Delirium by Lauren Oliver. <3

Leave a Reply

